Skip to content

The World Is Screaming ‘I Miss New Wave’

February 16, 2012

Good Morning, Mackrophiles,

Okay, that title might be a little misleading, but it does get me to a topic I’ve been wanting to discuss for a while, but I needed a few more pieces of evidence to convince me I had the right idea. And what I’ve seen is that, at long last, folks are going back to what worked best for them, be it the sixties, seventies, eighties or nineties, and they’re trying to rediscover how to make music like that person they were back then.

I’ve seen it in Paul McCartney and David Gilmour , I’ve seen it in Jon Anderson and Steve Hackett, I’ve seen it in Duran Duran, Van Halen and Yes, and I’ve seen it in the return of Soundgarden and The Tea Party. People know that things weren’t perfect in those days, even musically, but they also know that a lot got left behind in the last decade of cynicism and retreat from the battlefield.

Because that’s what a lot of them did. They either cynically tried to give the masses what they thought was expected of them, to middling results, or they went away and hoped it wasn’t really the end, hoping the wheel of bad distribution, bad contracts and bad prices would go away, so they could come back and start to rebuild on new ground.

And my list isn’t even remotely exhaustive. I’m just being my usual polemic self, naming the biggest objects I see on the horizon.

I’m not going to go on, here. I’ve been up a little too long and actually need to go lay down for a half hour to get my head back together. This topic probably deserves more analysis, but I just wanted to put it out there for you folks to think about. Do you think that musicians, artists and other creatives looking over their shoulder at the past for inspiration and guidance is on the rise? Do you think it’s a bad thing? Do you think there might be some merit to reappraising and rebuilding on the foundations established by classic works of the last century? Do you think it would be better to salt the Earth and move on?

Do you think I ask too many questions? 😉

Thanks for reading.

Eddie.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

