Skip to content

Keep On Going (and Going)

February 12, 2012

Good Afternoon, Mackrophiles,

I apologize for being late, but I was having brunch with my agent as we discussed the party we attended last night, and the singing we did. Then she got the bright idea for us to fire up the Wii and do some more singing. Despite the recording I’ve been doing lately, my stamina is dismal. I’m good for about four or five songs before my singing voice starts to go out on me.

Which is about what I managed last night before having to retire to catch a bus in the freezing cold before the busses stopped. The party was actually a fair bit of fun, although it is conclusive that I sing too loud. I also can’t sing at the level I’m used to for more than about three or four numbers. And I can’t wear long hair around girls who are used to being allowed to run their fingers through people’s hair in mixed company on a regular basis. For the record, my voice used to be a fairly respectable, non-nasal Countertenor range on my really good days. My range is much more limited now, going from about E3 up to a measly A4, when I used to be able to hit D5 without vocal training. Ah, to have that voice back now. *le sigh*

Anyway, just wanted to mention that I’d been out at a party last night, and even though I didn’t really drink (one Apple Liqueur Shot to  anaesthetise my throat after I strained it a bit), I’m kind of burned out today. Good company, all in all. Wasn’t sure what to expect from the people who threw the party, as they’re very open about the alternate lifestyle they usually indulge in, and we weren’t entirely sure they hadn’t invited us out to test the waters with us, so to speak. Seems we ran the gauntlet alright.

So thank you, Richard and Jenn Miller, for a lovely (if vanilla 😉 ) evening out. Great to see my old mate Rodney in such fine form, as well. Some day, I have to get him up singing. I need more background vocalists, and a new keyboardist wouldn’t hurt, either. It’s either that, or I find a way to convince Big Dave to come back and take over on bass again, because I’m having a hell of a time learning these songs of mine on bass, keys AND vocals simultaneously.

Time to post and get back to work. Thanks for reading.

Your Uncle Eddie.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

