Skip to content

The Salvation Army Band Played

December 6, 2011

Sorry about yesterday’s hiccup in transmission. I probably owe it to myself to get a bit of rest, but I’m used to working on a daily schedule, and I don’t really feel comfortable taking time off, even when I’m not well, which is more often than I like to admit.

Incidentally, Richard’s critique of Terminal Monday got a bit of attention, which was nice for him. I’m hoping he’ll finally start his own blog, but he says he doesn’t have time for social networks or Big Name Author blogs. Priorities, I tell him, but will he listen? He just won’t admit he’s hooked on those damned Flash games.

Anyway, I’m a bit warm and headachy, but that may be a byproduct of my humidifiers, which my Agent explains need to have their filters changed. I suppose I’ll step out and go buy a couple later today, if I can scrounge together enough money and energy. I won’t lie to you, kids, your Uncle Eddie is tired and broke. This blogging lark has been jolly good fun, but it’s the books that need selling, and so far, not much in the way of sales, yaknowhatImean?

This morning’s musical selection is a cross section of pieces by Anthony Phillips, whom I feel sure I’ve mentioned before. For those just tuning in, the band Genesis was originally four guys: Peter Gabriel, Tony Banks, Mike Rutherford and Anthony Phillips, the resident rowdy guitarist. He and Mike had been songwriting partners off and on for a good ten or fifteen years, but ‘Ant’ found performing on stage to be too much to handle, and so bowed out early, which lead to the hiring of not only new guitarist Steven Hackett, but some guy named Phillip Collins on drums.

That’s about as short a history of early Genesis as you’ll ever get from me.

Now then, who wants to be a good mouseketeer and go fetch Uncle Eddie a coffee? Nobody? Well, damn it, then I guess I’ll just have to go fetch it myself. You malcontents keep out of trouble. I’ll see you later.

Eddie.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

