Skip to content

Mars Ain’t The Kind of Place To Raise a Kid

November 13, 2011

Wasn’t sure I was going to make it in today, but lo and behold, here I am. How are you today?

It’s an unusual day here on the avenue, kids. Seems certain experiments have been earning more attention than I counted on. It’s still not yielding all of the results we’re hoping for, but things do seem to be coming along faster than I thought they would.

Cryptic, I know. I apologize for that. Please don’t hate me if I choose not to explain just yet.

See, the whole thing is, I really have been waiting a long time for this ‘comeback’ if it can indeed be called one. I’m inclined to do so simply because the career I was building twenty years ago got sidetracked for a number of other adventures which also didn’t go all the way to the top floor. It’s hard not to look over my shoulder and wonder if I did the right thing.

But here I am now, writing up a storm once more, ideas for how to finish sticky chapters coming in the middle of the night as they are wont to do, and the work is getting done.

Leads me to the problem of projecting when you will see some new Eddie Mack fiction in print. Hard to say, really. I guess I’m so used to everything taking five times longer than it feels like it should that I’ve lost the ability to just set a deadline and hit it.

Once upon a time, I wanted to be a musician, a songwriter, and I started hanging out with musicians and writing song lyrics and noodling on an acoustic guitar and a cheap little Yamaha keyboard, dreaming of writing brilliant classic rock songs. Silly, really, but I was a pretty hopeful kid back then.

Then I met a nice girl who had a little infant son who needed upbringing, so I chipped in and helped raise him for a couple of years. Haven’t seen him since he was a toddler. He’s the closest I’ve ever been to being a father. Not an experience I ever thought I would want. Sometimes I miss it. Sometimes I just wonder what my life would have been like if I hadn’t spent those two years raising a boy whose last words to me were, “You’re mean!”

So I guess the question for the day is, where are you today, and is it where you hoped to be by now? I’m not sure it’s a question I can answer myself, and given that almost nobody answered my last question, I’m not sure anybody reading this can, either. But it might be a conversation worth having on a blustery Sunday afternoon, don’t you think?

Eddie.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Charlotte E. Barclay permalink
    November 13, 2011 1:17 PM

    Oh, I’m sure I could write an entire book about the people I could have been in an alternate reality. There’s a lot in my life I regret, but at least I’m still writing, so I suppose it could be worse.

Leave a Reply

