Skip to content

Jubilation, She Loves Me Again

November 10, 2011

Had some errand running to do today. I’m afraid I didn’t have anything prepared to post before I had to leave. So I apologize if you were looking for me around noon. I’ll try not to let stuff like this happen too often, but I’m sure you know how it is.

Sooo… sex sex sex sex sex… no, I think I’ll save that one for another day. Let’s discuss the next best thing: MUSIC. Wait, you say, first, what does a has-been writer know about music, and second, didn’t we already HAVE a music post this week? Fair enough. But this is a different kind of music post, and it’s something even has-been writers can pretend to be experts about.

I’m talking about music you make love to.

Now, I know there are people who don’t play music when they have sex. One girl, a single mom I used to date, wouldn’t permit music during love-making because it almost only ever happened while her little boy slept in the next room. And let’s face it, even if you find someone you love dearly (or, you know, just has a kickin’ bod and really good vibes), that doesn’t mean you’re both compatible musically. I dated another girl (when I was young and pretty, I dated a fair bit) who liked my attitude when I sang at karaoke. but preferred country music. That one didn’t last long, as I recall. No idea why.

So the thing is, you can be having a great evening (or afternoon… or morning… hey, I don’t judge!) with your partner, and he or she will be getting pretty frisky, but then the moment you put on your copy of Face Value by Phil Collins, the magic vanishes and you start thinking you’ll never get your groove on again, because Lady Gaga or Justin Beiber just don’t do it for you.

So what strategy have you settled for? Do you acquiesce and play what your partner prefers to hear when they get their freak on? Do you choose the most moderate music you own that is close to what your partner enjoys? Do you alternate between your music and theirs on succeeding occasions? Do you put on the radio and hope for the best? Or do you just do it au naturelle, and leave your favourite disc in the rack and wistfully wish for a day when you find yourself making love with someone who enjoys the classics?

I’m not excluding those couples who happen to have a lot of musical tastes in common. Some get lucky like that. And then they get lucky like that. [I winced, too.]
And let’s face it, sometimes, you just find yourself in bed with your lover and there you are and there it is and there it goes, and there is no time to strike up the band for accompaniment.

But seriously, what do you consider to be ideal music for making love to, and what do you do when your partner doesn’t agree with your selection?

Just a little quandary to amuse you while I get back to work. Have a great day, people.

Eddie.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Charlotte E. Barclay permalink
    November 10, 2011 2:38 PM

    Yech. This post makes me think of all the times my ex-husband insisted on playing his band’s horrid demo recordings while we were intimate. I mean, I hated hearing the stuff in my day-to-day life as it was, but that just brought it a whole new level of disgusting.

    Generally speaking, however, if there must be music at all, it needs to be music so ambient it passes beneath my notice; if it’s a song I enjoy, I’ll focus too much on the music at the expense of everything else going on, and if I hate it, I’ll leave the room and go read a book.

Leave a Reply

